New Work at AS220

WAYFINDING_SHOW_IMAGE_small

When I Look at the Sky, I See the Past (January 2013)

Wayfinding:
New Letterpress Prints by Jori Ketten


AS220 Project Space
93 Mathewson Street
Providence, RI 02903

April 6-27, 2013
Opening April 6, 5-7PM

I made this body of work in January 2013 at Penland School of Crafts in North Carolina over the course of a two-week letterpress residency. I didn’t have a plan when I drove south and was excited to experiment in the studio. It felt daring to be plan-less, to make from an instinctual place. I was interested in using the letterpress in a non-traditional way and made all of these monoprints on a Vandercook SP15. They are: futuristic documents of the past, experimental topographies, galactic echoes, meditations on decoding/encoding/control/chaos and the desire to make sense of something that seems senseless. A tarot deck to help you find your way and to remind you that you are always going to be a little lost.

Titles are derived from “Snow on the Desert” by Agha Shahid Ali, published in A Nostalgist’s Map of America.

